Relaxshax's Blog


Wattle n’ Daub- Houses Made of Poop! (really)
June 13, 2010, 10:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve always been intrigued by this age-old form of building, especially since, material-wise, it would be so affordable to construct. Lo’ and behold, there are SEVERAL videos on this methodology, on youtube.com- Here’s one I particularly enjoyed…..

Years back, upon first reading Dan Price’s “Radical Simplicity” (Great Book!) I was inspired by one hut Dan built, which was somewhat based off the stick-weaving origins of the Wn’D approach. I always figured that such a structure, covered with some chicken wire, rebar-perhaps, and ferrocement (or solution dipped canvas, etc), would make for a cool, experimental free-form shelter. SOMEDAY, I just may try it out…

ALSO- (and the book “Ferrocement House Construction” by Garrett Connelly was sent to me recently for review (upcoming episode of “Tiny Yellow House”) check out http://www.ferrocement.com for some other likeminded ideas. The book is great too! -And the author of such a progressively themed book is from MA, believe it or not (where I’m based)- a state so restrictive in codes that you’ll soon need applications, in triplicate, with a paid fee, to be allowed to pass wind. Just you wait…

-Deek