Relaxshax's Blog

A Micro Office Makeover- FLOOR STORAGE ("FLOORAGE") for your tiny house
December 15, 2012, 4:50 pm
Filed under: cabins, cloffic, shedworking, small cabin, space efficiency, storage, tiny house, tiny office
Well, with 1000 projects going on, a 3 Day NC Tiny House-Building Workshop coming up (April 26th-28th), two kids, two bands, a hosting gig for the DIY Network, another book contract signed/in the works, and well, all the other things that come with life, my micro closet office, or “Cloffice”, had gotten a little messy as of lately…..SO I figured a lil’ makeover was in order. (Note: The rest of the room to the left is clean….)
“No, you can’t have my vintage vhs copy of ‘Tremors’!”
In the photo above, the closet makeover is not 100% complete, but its getting there. The new space acts as a little reading/play nook for my kids, which they love- its very fort-like, and if I have to do any computer work while at home, they’re inches behind me, so that I can keep an eye on them.


Basically, I utilized the under-stair shelving I had installed (on stairs I also had built a few years ago, the office too…) for storage of books, magazines, and future giveaway items for the blog, AND…..I built what I call “FLOORAGE”. Floorage is the building of a thin, boxed, floor section, ON TOP of an existing floor. Its almost like building a stage, but one that is hollow, and opens up for access and storage within. Mine was made of a few 2by6’s and some left over tongue and groove cedar I had. Slap an Ikea rug and a pillow or two on top of that, and Whammo!- a simple under-stair-office makeover!

Naturally, some of the items I parted with, or moved elsewhere, but believe it or not, most everything fit in here, AND there’s a little room to spare… The edge of the storage/floorage box also has a nice stained/trim edge now, which isn’t shown in this photo.

I talk about this a lil’ bit in my book “Humble Homes, Simple Shacks”, but will expand on more of these style ideas in the next book I’ve been working on….
-Derek “Deek” Diedricksen

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Tremors is awesome.

Comment by Haze-man

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

