Relaxshax's Blog


101 ITEMS TRASHED- Small House Resolutions for 2011
January 1, 2011, 10:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
DOWNSIZING 101- Baby Steps…

Here's some brightness and cheer to kick off your tiny-house new year (Scotland cottage from tinyhouseblog.com)

Hope you all had a great New Year! 2010 was a great year for me, this blog, my book, and the launching of Tiny Yellow House TV. A good deal of this success was made more-possible from many new friends I’ve made along the way. Thanks so much to Kent Griswold of http://www.tinyhouseblog.com, Michael Janzen of http://www.tinyhousedesign.com, Alex Pino of http://www.tinyhousetalk.com, Tammy Strobel from http://www.rowdykittens.com, the people of Make Magazine, Readymade Magazine, CBS TV, Jon Kalish of NPR, SEVERAL newspapers in New England, Lara Dean/Pulse Magazine, and many more.

As for last night, on this end, we laid low, tried out a Mediterranean mango-chicken kabob recipe at home, drank a lil’ wine, sat on my couch to sketch a lil’ bit, and little else.  Gone are my days of headbutting volkswagons after bar-hopping in Boston (which might explain the brain damage).

Anyway, since a New Year often comes with resolutions- one of mine is to Downsize- and by downsize, I mean ridding myself of some of the extraneous crap I own….

This is tough, however, as A. I’m into salvage building, and finding, fixing, and reselling junk. B. I have about 32,000 hobbies- all of which take up a good deal of equipment and space….especially the drumming/session recording (which requires a large deal of space-robbing equipment)- I always joke (especially when loading drums into a club) that in my next life I’ll take up the harmonica- better yet, a kazoo (takes less talent- and who doesn’t enjoy a good kazoo solo blurted in the face of another?)

Anyhow, I started MY LIST OF 101 ITEMS Yesterday, and while ridding myself of 101 books, shirts, and trinkets won’t be the answer to my space-needs, its a step in the right direction…after this step, I can try it again- another 101 items- and eventually I’ll be homeless and possessionless on the street and will NEED that aformentioned harmonica to play for street change! Kidding…well….

So….Goodbye Hanks Searles movie-adaptation novel of “Jaws 2” (not sure why I still have it from the 80s, or EVER picked it up), Sayonara fake-prosthetic horror-movie prop-hand from a SAW sneak screening, Nerf rocket launcher- you helped me through some tough times but we must now part ways, and good riddance vhs tapes of gifted movies starring Casper Van Dien that I never even watched- you shall all be donated to some charitable organization- or mass-sold on craigslist so as to fund my next piece of bazooka bubblegum (If I’m lucky).

     Note: The Beckett’s Guide to Reselling Terrible VHS Movies lists the value of one Casper Van Dien movie as a “Slap from the person you’re trying to pawn it off on”. (No true disrespect to Mr. CVD- he actually did a few decent flicks (“Starship Troopers” was pretty killer)…and could tie my ass in a knot, if he ever read this and tracked me down.)

So here’s my mass-craigslist listing instead:

“Dumptruck of Totally Useless Crap For Sale- $10.00 (I’ll pay YOU)- must take all- great for kindling, bulk landfill, or catapulting into the yard of a neighbor you don’t get along with (just don’t tell anyone that it was my idea!). One could also chipper-shred said lot and use the remains as blown-in, loose fill, wall insulation (repurposing!)”.

-Derek “Deek” Diedricksen


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I didn’t even finish this, I was laughing too much to read! Good luck and happy new year!

Comment by MJ

Happy 2011, Deek! I applaud your intentions to downsize. For me, keeping count is too much of a hassle though. I don’t even use crochet patterns because of the counting thing.😉 My own efforts at downsizing are slow but steady. If I love it, I keep it. BTW, I love the photo of the colorful little house. (Maybe I’ll save the picture to my already clogged up computer.)

Comment by Lisa

Thanks you two…

yeah- “101” is just a goal to shoot for…a ballpark….again, for starters. Its a forced reason/impetus to get my kiester in gear and get rid of stuff…although environmentally, I never just CHUCK things when I can help it- which makes getting rid of junk/stuff/clutter a lengthier process sometimes….

Comment by relaxshax

I would love to buy these two books, but my son (the computer whiz) advises me that Paypal is absolutely not a trustworthy venue. Are your books for sale at any bookstores in New York State? Thank-you. I can’t wait to get the book.

Comment by ruthlee barton

Hmmm….I haven’t had a problem with it ever- been using it for 10 years almost……if you email me at kid cedar at gmail dot com I can give you a mailing address/po box….thanks

Comment by relaxshax




Leave a Reply

