Relaxshax's Blog


My Cabin “The Hickshaw” wins BEST DESIGN AWARD 2010 from Shedworking (UK)
December 29, 2010, 5:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Wow….a damn pleasant surprise….especially since the UK site of author Alex Johnson features some incredible designs, sheds, builders, and overall concepts…..but my lil’ shed/single sleeper/greenhouse/sauna/ice-fishin’ shack combo “The Hickshaw” won The “BEST DESIGN” Shedworking award of the year. Crazy….esp as its made out of well, “trash”- almost all throwaway-materials.

http://www.shedworking.co.uk/2010/12/shedworking-awards-2010.html

An ultra-cool shed/structure from Alex's Shedworking Blog...(a grain bin and two feed troughs?)

For those who have no ideas what I’m talking about sturcture-wise, its this goofy lil’ thing. I had a blast building it and never even intended to get so into online videos and vlogging, until we shot a joke-episode on this tiny cabin/shelter, and well, things kinda exploded….

HERE’S THE VIDEO/EPISODE…

-Derek “Deek” Diedricksen


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey that’s what happens when you do things that are off the wall and you never think will go anywhere… I think your idea of the Hickshaw was great!

Like with anything I can see some little changes I would make if it was something I was going to build…. But hey it’s the designer in me! But it’s also about building something that fits your needs.

Kristine

Comment by Kristine Bennett

yeah- there are plenty of changes I’d make myself too- the hickshaw was actually built without any plans- just a free-form little structure made with the materials on hand- the loose inspiration being one of the designs in my “Humble Homes, Simple Shacks…” book- the first one presented sequentially….
have a great new year Kristine

Comment by relaxshax

Hey Deek you have a Happy New Year as well may it be safe and sane…. With all the snow you people have now looks to me the best place to spend the New Year is right at home.

Hey a site I happened across is one that has a lot of the ads for the old travel trailers on it… Like they say nothing is new it is just REDECOVERED! Here is the site http://www.allmanufacturedhomes.com/ I would have sent it to you but I have no idea where to send it…. Maybe it will give you some ideas for a towable shack… It’s not like you have nothing to do and you are bored out of your mind with all the time you have on your hands.. or is that paws? Just kidding. If you are like me you have more things going on then there is time for.

Blessings Kriss

Comment by Kristine Bennett

will check it out- thanks Kristine!đŸ™‚

Comment by relaxshax

Deek congrats great job! you and Kent have done well this year.It’s amazing what doors open up when you put yourself out there,well done! Here is an up date on my tiny wood stove update http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLzzOGOxlBw it’s working well so far. We just got another 8 in of snow blah.lookin for spring K

Comment by kevinsmicrohomestead

Very cool kevin- saw it on your facebook post- and thanks…
-Deek

Comment by relaxshax




Leave a Reply

