Relaxshax's Blog


Author/Tiny House Fanatic Mimi Zeiger- and her take on “the life”…
November 5, 2010, 6:46 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

    I recently talked to/interviewed Mimi Zeiger (author of the VERY cool coffee table book “Tiny Houses“, freelance writer, Dwell Magazine contributor, honcho of http://www.loudpapermag.com, and general workaholic) and she had these tips to offer when it came to getting by in small spaces/tiny homes….

"Tiny Houses" By Mimi Zeiger

Mimi’s “TRICKS OF THE TRADE”

Double Duty: Living in my small studio means that some things have to do double duty, like my table. Placed lengthwise in my space, one side serves as the kitchen table, one side is my office. When friends come over, I move my laptop and move the piles of papers.
Library Card: I love reading novels, but I don’t have a lot of space for bookshelves. I take full advantage of the Brooklyn Public Library. I can get almost any book placed on hold for pick up at the Central branch. Can’t wait for Franzen’s Freedom to come in.
Coffee Shops: My biggest vice is coffee, luckily I live in a neighborhood full of cafes. When my apartment feels cramped, I escape to Smooch for cappuccino and wifi.
Go Vintage: A friend once advised me to buy vintage furniture because it retains its resale value. I don’t have any plans to sell my four white Eames shell chairs, since they happen to be be my favorite item in the place. They are a bit unwieldy at times, but they add a lot of mid-century designy character to the place. My 60s credenza (a Craigslist find) has lots and lots of drawers to store hats, scarves, knitting supplies, and dishtowels.

Micro-Green by Mimi Zeiger (out March 22, 2011)

Her latest offering “Micro-Green” is also available for pre-order now on Amazon.com

-Deek


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

