Relaxshax's Blog


A Swedish half-underwater inn/micro-hotel/house
November 2, 2010, 9:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

"The Utter Inn"- underwater micro-lodging in Sweden

Saw this on a bizarre-travel site, and also recently on Alex Pino’s tiny house site http://www.tinyhousetalk.com. I KNEW there had to be something like this out there, as I already have a few sketches of likeminded plans that will either be in the re-release of “Humble Homes…” that I’m working on, OR “Humble Homes 2”- or whatever the heck I’ll title it in the year 2019…

Anyhow, its  great little concept- I just hope the floatation/drag math has been accurately worked out, as one dip, or sizeable wave, and you’d think the access tunnel/shed might take on some water. That said, I’d love to see this in person someday, although I’m sure the wait list is growing by the minute. $160 a night doesn’t seem so insane either.

The water seems a lil’ murky in this photo-The reviews do claim that many fish can/will be seen though….and cement shoed Swedish mobsters (did I say that out loud?).

-Deek


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s a cool looking little place but not one I’d stay in. I would be unnerved that the bottom portion would spring a leak and don’t see a lifesaver ring on board. 😉 Swimming isn’t my strong point.

Comment by Lisa

hi deek, ussubmarines.com has a link for underwater and floating habitats. (they used to have a lot more pictures of the various types, but i am not seeing them now / ??? ).

Comment by Pat Mahoney




Leave a Reply

