Relaxshax's Blog


Video- Use a 2-liter soda bottle as a 50 watt incandescent lightbulb hack
September 30, 2010, 12:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“Use a 2-liter soda bottle as a 50 watt incandescent lightbulb/light hack” -For low-budget, and salvage construction of tiny homes, mortgage-free housing….

This idea’s been around for sometime- but this video (even while subtitled) is pretty decent. Thanks to Bryce for sending it!

My concerns….in freeze/thaw climates you’re pretty much screwed, and once the roofing-seal gives, its leak-city! Additionally, I’d think the sun would deteriorate the plastic after awhile. I’ve messed with this idea a little in the past, but as WALL lights, which sat under a protective (from rain) overhang- they worked pretty well- I’d rather use the same idea with WINE bottle though- the glass will hold up much longer- and retain/prevent heat loss a little better.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

very cool! Cheap solar tubes!

Comment by Solar Burrito

I like the idea, wish I had more time and materials cause I would play around with variations… Like you mentioned with northern weather this might be difficult to do since it would be one big mess to clean up, although it could double as a solar heater during the winter if it was designed just right.

Comment by Sarah L.

I wonder if you could use fiber optics to feed light to the bottles without cutting holes in the roof? Would it be just as effective or would it be cost prohibitive?

Comment by Otakop

hmmm….fiber optics- might not be a bad idea/worth a try….

Comment by relaxshax

Hear in Az they get hot and can generate quite a large amount of heat, a friend and I did this for his pool shed works great.

Comment by Sharpener

seems like a perfect application- sheds, etc.

Comment by relaxshax

I discovered that video a while ago and its been on of those ideas constantly rolling around in my head.

I live up in Maine where the freeze is definitely a concern, and I thought about perhaps a mixture of alcohol, isopropyl or otherwise, might keep it liquid and still clear, and actually antifreeze (ethylnglycol, I think?) is clear when its manufactured, but has the coloration added for leak identification purposes. I don’t see why it couldn’t be made to work, but perhaps water clarity would be compromised and hence cut down on the light transference.

I’m also curious as to what a roof studded with bottle tops would do with two foot of snow on top of it! And shoveling would be a BITCH.

Comment by Boots




Leave a Reply

