Relaxshax's Blog


Handmade Houses- A long out of print classic on hand-built homes
September 13, 2010, 7:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

HANDMADE HOUSES: A Guide To The Woodbutcher’s Art

GREAT book- I picked it up a ways back online, and its one of those daydream tomes that left me wanting more photos- many more. Its by Art Boericke and Barry Shapiro. A few used copies are up for sale in the $10.00 range on Amazon. Heck, for $10.00, even if I grab a few new inspiring construction ideas, or idea-tangents from it, its well worth the purchase….at least in my estimation. I’m going to semi-cop one of the photographed staircase designs someday into one of my own structures.

Here’s a shot from inside…

I’m also just about done with “Twelve By Twelve“, the new tiny-cabin, scaled-back living tale from William Powers. Its a pretty enjoyable read so far, although I still have about 1/3 more to go….I’ll update you with a review later.

-Deek


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is one of my all-time favorite books. I had found it in a local library many years ago and recently(finally) bought my own copy.

The woodwork and craftsmanship are phenomenal. The book is short on text, leaving the photographs to speak for themselves. Thanks for bringing this book some well-deserved attention.

Comment by J




Leave a Reply

