Relaxshax's Blog


‘Dem tiny veggie-oil plans are comin’- but here’s its origin…
April 22, 2010, 7:16 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Plans/sketches of the vegetable oil stove/heater will be finished soon, and I’ll send them to Kent Griswold of www.Tinyhouseblog.com who will also post them as well- and perhaps Michael Janzen of www.tinyhousedesign.com will as well…again, if you remind me, and pick up my “Humble Homes…” book, I’ll make sure to send you the plans, etc with the book as well, in thanks.

The redneck-deck chiminea- keeps flies (and guests!) away....(made from an old lp gas tank)

Meanwhile, here’s a shot of the intitial d.i.y. (not fully assembled/completed in this shot) woodstove I was building for the micro-cabin. Its made from an old gas-grill tank I yanked from the recycling depot. Currently, with a piece of stovepipe inserted into a welded collar, it serves as a redneck chiminea on my deck, and works pretty well.

I’ve also seen several d.i.y. videos and ideas for making woodstoves out of metal mailboxes! A great idea on a budget, and I might have to try it soon.

And because it got burried so fast, for those who haven’t checked it out, or are wondering what I’m talking about (the veggie oil heater)

HERE’s the video…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmR3kx660gw


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Deek- Is the vegetable oil heater the oil drip kind that uses other fuels besides oil (like wood)? My husband seems to think that it is, and I think it’s built more along the lines of the old “uncandles” from the ’70s’.

Comment by Lisa

just trolling thru your archive. will watch vid for clues.

Comment by kellicox




Leave a Reply

